National League Division 1 Cups 2023

St Vincents & Cathal Brugha – Division 1 Cup Champions

19th February 2023

St Vincents ladies took home the trophy after beating Drogheda in this evenings final. St Vincents topped the group winning three out of three matches with Drogheda following behind them in second place, winning two and losing one game sending them both to the final.

Having set up a repeat of their group game the previous day, St Vincents continued their unbeaten run over the weekend overcoming Drogheda (10-6) in the final.

Women’s MVP of the tournament was Ciara Franke (St. Vincent’s).

In the men’s competition Cathal Brugha won the Division 1 Cup beating St Vincents in the final. The Belfast Club had been in Group A alongside their final opponents, finishing as runners up behind the Dublin club with two wins and a loss.

The Brugha men made their way to the final beating the winners of Group B, North Dublin to secure their place. Both semi finals were tight affairs with low scoring, St Vincents beating Corrib (8-5) and Cathal Brugha beating North Dublin (9-4) with the final being an even closer, nail biting, spectacular, with even scores at half time and again with thirty seconds left on the clock, eventually finishing 13-11 with Cathal Brugha coming out on top after penalties to win the title.

Men’s MVP of the tournament was Stiofán McMahon (Cathal Brugha).

Thank you to the staff in Lisnasharragh Leisure Centre ( who were very obliging and helping in making hours available over the weekend and providing assistance especially in the set up and take down of the pool.

A big thank you to all our referees, table officials, President of Ireland Water Polo, Kevin Armstrong, who was in attendance for the presentation of medals and in particular to Tournament Director, Aveen Colvin and Officials Delegate, Decky McKerr, who both played a huge part in both the organisation and running of the tournament over the weekend.

Information & Results:

NLD1 Men’s Fixtures & Results

NLD1 Women’s Fixtures & Results

National Cup Roll of Honour