St Vincents claim Irish Senior Cup 2023 Double

13th May 2023

St Vincents claim Irish Senior Cup Double

St Vincents Men and Women claimed the 2023 Irish Senior Water Polo Cups at the Aurora Aquatics Complex in Bangor today.

St Vincents retained their Irish Senior Cup title by beating Drogheda 8-2 in this evening’s women’s Final, in what was a repeat of the last two Irish Senior Cup finals. With both teams unbeaten coming into the final it was Drogheda who started the stronger, leading 3-1 at the end of the 1st Quarter.

St Vincents came back strong in the 2nd quarter to lead 5-4 before extending their lead to 9-5 by the end of the 3rd Quarter.

Drogheda continued to fight hard to get back in the game but struggled to break down St Vincents, who continued to control the game right to the end, with tournament MVP Ciara Franke getting four in the final.

The final score of 14-6 saw St Vincents win the Irish Senior Cup for the 11th year in a row; adding it to the National League Title they have already won this season.

Already 2023 League Champions, St Vincents (Dublin) won the Men’s Cup, where they faced off against local side Cathal Brugha (Belfast) who was aiming to win their third Senior Cup in a row.

But it was the Dublin team who were quickest out of the blocks racing into a 4-0 lead at the end of the first quarter to quiet the local crowd.

The second quarter was a much tighter affair as Brugha tried to find a way back into the game, with both teams trading goals before St Vincents scored again to lead at half time 6-1. The third quarter saw a similar pattern St Vincents winning the quarter 2-1 to extend their lead to 8-2 going into the final quarter.

The final quarter ended 2-2 with the league champions going on to complete the double winning 10-4 to win their first senior cup since 2019 and fourth in their history.


Women’s Team of the tournament:

1 Hannah Taylor (Cathal Brugha)

2 Gillian Fritz (Drogheda)

3 Ciara Franke (St Vincents)

4 Cliona Colvin (St Vincents)

5 Eva Ramsey (Cathal Brugha)

6 Mairead Baker (St Vincents)

7 Sophie Moran (Tribes)


Women’s MVP of the tournament:

Ciara Franke (St Vincents)


Men’s Team of the tournament:

1 Shane O’Brien (St Vincents)

2 Desmond Donnelly (Cathal Brugha)

3 Stiofan McMahon (Cathal Brugha)

4 Zoran Jerkovic (St Vincents)

5 Cillian Colvin (St Vincents)

6 Max Connolly (Sandycove)

7 Adrian Hanna (Cathal Brugha)

Men’s MVP of the tournament:

Shane O’Brien (St Vincents)


Young Player of the Year was also awarded at the end of the competition to Kyle O’Kennedy (Corrib)


Results – Saturday 13th May 2023


Semi Final 1                Drogheda WPC 10 v 8 Cathal Brugha WPC

Semi Final 2                St Vincents WPC 21 v 7 Tribes WPC

Final                            St Vincents 14 v 6 Drogheda



Semi Final 1                Cathal Brugha 12 v 5 North Dublin

Semi Final 2                St Vincents 12 v 6 Sandycove

Final                            Cathal Brugha 4 v 10 St Vincents


Men Results

Women Results

National Cups Roll of Honour