Outstanding Contribution to Water Polo Award

Outstanding Contribution to Water Polo

Congratulations to Ian Hanrahan who received the award for Outstanding contribution to Water Polo at the 2022 Swim Ireland Awards today (8th October) in the Crowne Plaza, Dublin.

The Outstanding Contribution to Water Polo award goes to a person who has had an outstanding contribution to the Water Polo community over a prolonged period. This year’s worthy winner has exceled in more than one of the criteria’s set out for this award.

Ian is a member of the St. Vincent’s Water Polo Club in Dublin and has been involved in Water Polo his whole life. He started playing Polo at a young age and went on to represent Corrib, Clontarf and St Vincent’s across various different levels in our National Leagues over the past 30 years.

He has had an outstanding contribution promoting the cause of Water Polo in Ireland in executive positions at Club, Regional and National level for close to 20 years. He laid the foundation for St Vincent’s to become one the largest Water Polo Club’s in the country and was instrumental in implementing strong governance within the club which would help the club go on to become Club of the Year in 2019.

In his positions on regional and national committee he has continuously gone above and beyond his designated roles including maintaining the previous Water Polo website for over a decade, chasing and updating results & tables manually, travelling the country to referee and to act as Tournament Director at numerous League & Cup competition all at his own expense.

Ian has consistently shown a high level of commitment to Water Polo through his officiating both domestically & internationally, and administration work while continuously striving for higher standards of those around him for the better of Ireland Water Polo. His commitment to Water Polo in Ireland was recently enhanced when he put himself forward and subsequently qualified to becoming a LEN referee in July of this year.

As recognition for these many years of service and commitment, the Ireland Water Polo Committee feel Ian is a worthy winner as the 9th recipient of this award.

Past Winners:

2012: Nickey O’Meara

2013: Brian O’Dwyer

2014: Tommy Kirk & Ben Kealy

2015: Bert O’Brien

2016: Phil Kelly

2018: Gerry O’Neill

2019: Shane Moraghan